I’ve Never Loved

I’ve never loved the way I love
the desert,
except maybe rocky mountain rivers
and deep jungle creeks
that put to shame
the very idea
of water streaming through sand.

And I’ve never hoped for anything
as much as I hope for the desert,
unless of course
you count my hope in
the glass concrete sweet
smog monolith
of Bogotá.

And I’ve never smiled as I smile
in the desert
unless of course
you count my smile
in the ocean, learning to
read salt water
from atop a surfboard.

And I’ve never cried as I cry
for the desert
unless of course
you count my tears
over desecrated
mountain sacred spaces.

And I’ve never been me as I am
in the desert
until I find myself fully
everywhere.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Never Loved

  1. It’s wonderful! How you can do to imagine all these places in an unbelievable fast travel around the dessert, the river, the mountain and all the landscapes you related…

    Greetings x

    Like

Leave a Reply

