Requiem For A River

I drove past a river today
unexpectedly
and found myself jealous
of the fisherman
purging her depths.
I should learn to fish
so I can stand
unbothered.

Maybe my truest want
is to be not just on the river
but with the river, in the river, of the river.

How to be human?
I ask the water.

Can you unleash my multitudes?
Can you unhinge my joy?
Can you wait, hold silently, dance vibrantly?

Forever ago
right now
I am in this water again
after I thought I would never return,

after I thought life was linear,
before I learned how souls curve.

When did we cease
to be
young?

Leave a Reply

